The Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award is presented by the National Council, Boy Scouts of America, through the local council to adult volunteer Scouters for their distinguished service to youth and their community. The award is made for noteworthy service of exceptional character to youth by registered Cub Scouters, Scouters, Varsity Scouters and Venturing leaders within territory under the jurisdiction of a local council. It is considered to be the highest award a Boy Scout council can bestow upon a volunteer Scouter. The 2018 awardees will be honored at the Council Awards Reception on January 12, 2019.

Any registered adult Scouter (21 or older) who has a record of quality service to Scouting, his or her community and non-Scouting youth, is eligible for nomination. Download examples of Scouting service positions. Nominations will not be considered for former professional Scouters or council employees within 5 years of their leaving employment with the BSA (this means any form of full-time or part-time employment as secretary, ranger or professional-technical position). Nominations cannot be considered for posthumous awards.

Nominations may be initiated by adults who have either served with the nominee or who are otherwise personally familiar with the nominee’s service record. The nomination must be submitted on the Silver Beaver Award Nomination Form. Out of date forms will not be accepted for evaluation. All sections of all pages should include as much information as possible for best consideration of the nominee. New nomination forms must be submitted each year. Nomination forms will not be carried over from the previous year. Nominations will be on a “blind” basis. The top portion of this form will be removed during the evaluation. Nominations are due to the council office no later than September 7, 2018.

2017 Silver Beaver Class

Wagon Wheel
Wagon Wheel
War Eagle
Wagon Wheel
Lewis & Clark
War Eagle
Diamond Dick
Wagon Wheel
Wagon Wheel

Audrey Borytsky
Tami Brinkhous
Richard Cooper
Gwen Edwards
John Franklin
Nicole Freeman
Kimberly Kleinschmit
Clinton “Butch” Reid
Russ Roe
Randall Sykora


MAC Scholarship Program

The Boy Scouts of America, Mid-America Council offers scholarship opportunities for Scouts. Scholarships include:

  • “Robert Mueller Memorial” Eagle Scout Scholarships – Available in Mid-February! 
  • Gardner Foundation Camp Scholarship
  • NBZ Scholarship
  • Rev. John P. Schlegel Creighton Eagle Scout Scholarship
  • Charles W. Sigerson, Jr. Eagle Scout Scholarship

Apply today.
Deadline for all scholarship applications is June 28th.

NYLT Scholarship

The Boy Scouts of America, Mid-America Council is honored to offer this scholarship opportunity to four Scouts who have registered for National Youth Leadership Training and have been accepted. Scholarships are each valued at $225. We’re presenting the scholarships in memory of Josh Fennen, Aaron Eilerts, Sam Thomsen, and Ben Petrzilka and also honoring the other Scouts who demonstrated the ultimate leadership skills at Pahuk Pride in 2008. Registration deadline is March 15, 2019.

Apply today.
Deadline for all scholarship applications is March 15, 2019.